Resort 2012: Bottega Veneta Makes Me Contradict Myself

Bottega Veneta–better yet Tomas Maier made me review his recent Resort 2012 collection in a contradicting manner. In fact, I would consider it a refreshing–yet patronizing moment relating to previous autumn 2011 disasters and satisfactions. Clean sophistication wrapped in a childish-like demeanor, was taken to the full extent of signature Bottega Veneta style–and yet I loved and hated it. Was it the “season” mixing that made me lead to my “love-hate” relationship? Would anyone justify a look intended for wear in the latter parts of our year placed in a Resort collection as groundbreaking? Am I too traditional to disagree with Vogue‘s praising statement telling the population that, “[…]Maier is aware that the fantasy of fashion must sometimes acknowledge the practicality of reality.”?

I’ve come to the conclusion without anyone’s further consent that I am not crazy–a terrible way to come to a conclusion, eh? Maier’s collection was just as contradicting as I perceived it. It was the perpetual, oncoming and, usually tasteful– in most ways clash of autumn/winter with our usual Resort “getaway” theme. In any case, I found it to be entailing too much thought into a collection worthy of all things related to blasé. When on a resort his elegant, escaping little dresses would qualify to all resort standards. However, those tasteful–yet nowhere near relating to theme looks of darker, more conserving colors deserved the boot. Trust me, a Resort collection is more than a few swimsuits and deserving, light frocks; then again who said we should entirely reform known Resort structure as we know it?

Am I crazy? I’m not sure if I’m making sense…

Comments
One Response to “Resort 2012: Bottega Veneta Makes Me Contradict Myself”
  1. Jessica says:

    Verrry Good Wording (: Love, Jess.

Mademoiselle Très Belle knows you have something to say...

  • Copyright © 2010-2011 Mademoiselle Très Belle
